How many of these awesome Viber features do you use?

Viber is a free messaging application, which connects more than 200 million people from 100+ countries across the world. Chances are you most likely enjoy the app for its free calls and funny stickers. However, there is so much more to it than just that! We have prepared a list of cool features, which can help you get the most out of the application as well as enhance your user experience.

Block your contacts within the app

With Viber, you are free to block any contact of your choice if you don’t want to have one-on-one conversations with a particular person. You may block the contact in a few quick steps:

  1. Open the chat between you and the contact you’d like to block.
  2. Swipe to the left and click on the Navicon in the top-right corner.
  3. Press the “Block” button.

If you block someone by mistake, don’t worry – you can unblock the contact anytime:

  1. Press the Navicon within the main page of the app and click “Settings”.
  2. Select “Privacy” and access your “Block List”.
  3. Search for the contact’s number or name, and select the “Unblock” option beside it.

Hide your ‘Online/Seen’ status

First of all, it is totally fine if you don’t want other people to see every time you’re online or know when you’ve seen their messages. Second of all, you can easily hide such information in just a few taps.

If you want to hide your ‘Online’ status, do the following:

  1. Go to the settings tab within the main page of the app.
  2. Access your privacy options.
  3. Uncheck the box that is right next to the “Share ‘Online’ Status” option.

Please, mind that you can change this option only once every 24 hours.

If you want to hide your ‘Seen’ status, do the following:

  1. Go to the settings tab within the main page of the app.
  2. Access your privacy options.
  3. Uncheck the box that is right next to the “Send ‘Seen’ Status” option.

Turn on ‘Smart Notifications’

The application provides notifications for every single message you receive by default. The problem is that some people tend to press ‘Send’ more often than the space button, sending multiple consecutive messages in a row, which can be pretty distracting.

Luckily, you can enable the “Smart Notifications” feature, which allows the app to combine multiple messages into a single notification. Follow these steps:

  1. Open the chat for which you’d like to enable the feature.
  2. Swipe to the left, find the “Smart Notifications” option and tap to enable it.

Turn off ‘Light Screen’

By default, your device screen automatically turns on – even if it is locked – every time you get a notification from Viber. This is not ideal, to say the least. But you can disable this feature by following some quick steps:

  1. Access the “Settings” tab within the main page of the app.
  2. Select “Notifications” and uncheck the box that is right next to the “Light screen for messages” option.

Disable notifications

Whether you’re about to attend a meeting, or you just want to take some time off, turning off Viber notifications is the best way to avoid any distractions. All you have to do is:

  1. Open the “Settings” tab within the main page of the app.
  2. Select “Notifications” and disable any notification (or all of them) of your choice, including ‘New message popup’, ‘Contact joined Viber’, ‘Show message preview’, etc.

Access your ‘Conversation Gallery’

Since Viber allows you to exchange media files with friends and family, you’ve probably shared a solid number of links, videos, and images by now. At this point, scrolling back through your messaging history to find specific content you’ve received/sent months ago probably seems like a really inconvenient idea. That’s where the “Conversation Gallery” feature comes into play, helping you search for the media files you’ve exchanged within the app in no time.

To access Conversations Gallery, follow these simple steps:

  1. Open the conversation where you’ve previously shared media files.
  2. Swipe to the left and select “Conversation Gallery”.
  3. Swipe right and left to navigate between shared videos and pictures.

Try doodling

It’s no surprise that the application allows you to exchange images with friends and family. But did you know that you can doodle on them as well? Basically, you may doodle on any image that you’ve sent or received within the app – play with colors, experiment with different brushes, and much more – and share your finished pieces with others.

To access the Doodle editor, do the following:

  1. Open any photo that you’ve exchanged within the app and click on the three-dot settings button.
  2. Tap “Doodle on this photo” and start creating.
  3. When you are ready, share your image with friends by pressing “Send”.